Brown Sugar and Garlic Chicken

chickenI found this recipe on Pinterest and loved it but modified it slightly to increase the garlic.  Here it is:

10 cloves of garlic minced

1/4 cup of olive oil

1/4 cup to 1/2 cup of brown sugar

8 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Saute the garlic in the olive until golden, add the brown sugar until it is a slight paste over medium heat.  Remove from heat and spread over chicken breasts placed in a greased glass pan.  Season with salt and pepper. Cook at 500 degrees for 30 minutes.

I sprinkled some extra brown sugar on the top of the chicken but you don’t have to do that extra step.  It was wonderful with some asparagus.  Enjoy!

 

53 thoughts on “Brown Sugar and Garlic Chicken

  1. Pingback: 3/1-3/7 Meal Plan | Adames Eats

  2. Pingback: Brown Sugar Mishaps | What should I call this?

  3. Pingback: Garlic Chicken | The Greener Tailgate

  4. This was simply delicious…solved the “Black Pan” dilemma…lined the pan with Parchment Paper..clean-up….a simple lift and throw…Thanks for a wonderful new dinner favorite

  5. Dumb question…do you cook the chicken first before putting the paste on or put the paste on the chicken while it’s raw then bake?

  6. So, I followed the instructions, but I feel that the oilve oil never fully blended, therefore I never got the “paste” consistency. When I poured it over the chicken, the brown sugar immediately cooled and hardened…. Any tips/suggestions?

    • So that happened to me too. I still just spread as best as I could and then about 10 minutes before it was done I pulled it out and spread a little more since it was heated and easier to spread. I also made a little extra sauce while it was cooking and added that to the chicken 10 minutes before it was done. The extra sauce I made I didn’t measure anything and it turned out a little saucier so I may have added more oil. I also used coconut oil because i like that better! 😆

  7. My husband rarely tries anything new, he is strictly red meat and potatoes until I baked this chicken tonight!! He loved it!!! Thank you for this dish!!!

  8. This chicken is SUPER easy to make and SUPER tasty! The chicken was so moist! My picky teenager LOVES this recipe and wants to learn how to make it for when she goes to college in the fall.

  9. Does not need to be on 500 degrees! That’s rediculous. It burnt the oil badly and smoked up my whole house

  10. Yea there is no instruction to let the oil cool, turned the brown sugar to caramel before the chicken even started cooking…

  11. This is so so so good! I love making this! I usually make it by putting some butter under each chicken breast. That way it keeps the chicken nice and juicy and then when the sauce falls off and mixes with the butter you have a nice sauce! It’s delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this!

  12. Pingback: 20 Best Chicken Recipes Ever

  13. I only had 3 chicken breasts, but I made the full recipe of sauce. The brown sugar burned and smelled up the whole house. Not sure if I can salvage the chicken or not. Bummed.

  14. I would not recommend adding honey and then baking. The glaze burnt all around the chicken and made all smoke alarms go off, not fun. 🙂

  15. Made this tonight for supper and everyone absolutely LOVED it! Great recipe! Thank you!
    I must say that this was the first time I have ever baked anything at 500 degrees, but the chicken turned out perfectly! Delicious! A new addition to the family meal plan!

  16. Pingback: 200 Cheap & Easy Grilling Recipes - Prudent Penny Pincher

  17. She broiled it, your oven should have a broiling button to choose from. I use the broiler a lot and my food turns out all the time. And I am in Oklahoma. I’m trying this out to see if it turns out right tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

