Great Bathroom Cleaner

So I read the postings about combining equal parts vinegar and blue Dawn dish-washing liquid together in some sort of spray bottle to create an unbelievable removal product of soap scum.  Living in Florida, soap scum is definitely a problem as the water is a bit harder here then in other parts of the country.  Having tried nearly everything and found them to be lacking in ability, I decided to try this especially since it meant NO SCRUBBING.  Not that I am lazy but if I can get away without scrubbing, I’m all in.

This morning I did just that, equal parts vinegar to Dawn in a spray bottle for a total of 10 ML of goo.  Then I sprayed the entire bottle on everything I could find in the bathroom: the toilet, the sink, the tub, and tile.  I let it sit and went for a 30 minute walk/run.  When I entered the house, the smell about knocked me over despite it being upstairs.  The vinegar smell is very strong and if you can tolerate it, it is well worth the effort.

So the next step was sponging off the goo was in theory seems easy but dish-washing liquid is not easy to remove.  For the more water you add, the more it seemed to grow in volume!  Nonetheless, after all of the wiping (and by the way the smell disappeared after the goo was gone) and NO SCRUBBING, I had beautiful like new toilet, sink, tub, and tile.  Here is a picture of my husband’s mirror which has NEVER gotten completely clean.  So bottom line, this one is a keeper but nose-plugs may be helpful the next time.

2 thoughts on “Great Bathroom Cleaner

  1. Living in hard-water-country here in LA, this strikes a chord deep in my heart. I may just have to give this a go. The kids can go play outside if they don’t like the smell!

Leave a Reply

