Hiding in Busyness…Part 3

But where is God in my life in the middle of all this busyness?  I can point to my countless service hours, committees, classes that I teach and take, and books (including the entire Bible) that I have read about God.  My quiet times are filled with purpose: reading the Bible in a year, reading commentaries, reading the New or Old Testament in a year, or reading various studies and devotions.  But where is the quiet time alone with God, without an agenda? 

No, not the reading and studying quiet time, but the time when you are identifying with David when he writes in Psalms 46:10, “Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world. Or when Isaiah promises in 58:11, “The Lord will guide you continually, giving you water when you are dry and restoring your strength.  You will be like a well-watered garden, like an ever-flowing spring.”

Why is it so hard to just be still?  Is this why I don’t feel as though God is always guiding me?  Perhaps this is why I feel so drained and depleted, far from the well-watered garden and ever-flowing spring.  How about you?  What are you really hiding from in your busyness?

Leave a Reply

